Space and Space Page Access (deprecated)

How Space Access Really Works

Getting Access

In order to determine whether someone has access to a Space, we go through several different options.

  1. First, if they have an active purchase of a product, or an active subscription to a list, where that space is added under Content, they'll have access.
  2. Second, if they're admins on the account, or they've been granted staff privileges in the space, they're in
  3. Third, if they have been granted explicit access to the space, either by manually adding the space on their contact page, or through an action via a trigger, an automation, or directly on a segment, they're in.

If anyone of those conditions is met, they'll get access to the space.


Revoking Access

You can revoke each one of these, and they'll have different consequences.

  1. Removing the Space from the content for the List or Product will remove it for all who are on that list or product.
  2. Unsubscribing a contact from a list, or canceling their purchase of a product that gives access to that space, will affect just that contact, but will have other consequences, like no longer getting emails to that list or product.
  3. Removing them as admins on your account or revoking their staff privileges in the space will obviously remove them as admins or revoke their staff privileges.
  4. Using the "Revoke access to space" action will only remove any directly granted access, ie. if they have access through a list or a product, they'll still have access, regardless.


Grant Access and Revoke Access

These respectively set or remove any explicitly granted permission for this particular contact on this particular space.

If the contact in question has access some other way, it's not going to make any difference whether you grant or revoke these.

Only in the future, if they lose access through, say, a product, then the fact that they still have been explicitly granted permission would come into play


Space visibility options

space-access-large.jpg

There are 3 options for Spaces access. 

Closed Spaces, require everyone who has access to purchase a product from you or sign up for a list with you. They have to give you their information and in turn, they are supplied with access and a Simplero ID.

Then you have two options for an Open Space. An Open Space means that anyone who has the URL will have access. The URL can be shared via social media, an email, text message. Also if they are a current customer with access to one of your other spaces (closed or open) they will see all your open spaces listed as available to them. 

space-access-2-large.jpg

Your 2 options in an Open Space are:

  1. That they create a Simplero ID this would require them to be registered with Simplero
  2. That they don't have to log in at all. Meaning the Space would be truly open to anyone and they don't have to register with you or with Simplero. 


Giving Access


Site Access to a Product or List

  1. Locate the list(s) or product(s) you want to give the site to.
  2. Select on the Content tab within the list.
  3. Scroll to the "Site" section about 1/2 way down
  4. Select the Connect to existing site button
  5. Select Site
  6.  Save


Access to a single contact

  1.  Search for the Contact in your database
  2. Click on their name
  3. Scroll about 3/4 of the way down to the box showing the spaces they have access to.
  4. Click on the red hyperlink that says "Add a site"
  5. Select the site you want them to have access to
  6. If there are any pages on auto-publish in the site you will now need to to do that. That can be done via an automation, broadcast, or simply select the manage access button next to the site in this same screen and select the pages. 


Access via a Trigger or Automation

  1. Add a trigger where you want or create a new step in your automation
  2. Select Action
  3. Choose Give access to a space then select the site


Manual Access 

Do you want to give a contact access to a space without having them register for a product or list?

  1. Search for contact in your database
  2. Click on their name
  3. Scroll about 3/4 of the way down to the box showing the spaces they have access to.

    Manage-Access-large.jpg
  4. Click on the red hyperlink that says "Add a space"
  5. Select the space you want them to have access to
  6. If there are any pages on auto-publish in the space you will now need to give them access to those. That can be done via an automation, broadcast, or simply select the manage access button next to the space in this same screen and select the pages. 


Removing Access for a Space


Removing access to a single contact

  1. Search for the contact in your database
  2. Click on their name
  3. Find the product where they have access to the space
  4. Cancel their purchase

 cancel-access-large.jpg


Removing an entire product's Access